Crime Stoppers is a totally independent, not-for-profit organisation that has a volunteer board of management including two senior police officers.

Our Board currently has the following volunteers as members, with each bringing significant experience and a valued skill set to the role.

Sharon Hanlon


Sharon joined the Board in November 2011 and became the Chair of the Crime Stoppers SA Board in November 2013. Ms Hanlon’s appointment recognises her experience as a director on government, mutual and not-for-profit boards; her experience as an executive within government and the RAA; and her strong background in marketing, corporate communications, stakeholder engagement and advocacy at a State and National level.

Sharon is also Deputy Chair of Crime Stoppers Australia and was elected President of Crime Stoppers International in 2018.

Sharon is a member of the Sponsorship & Marketing subcommittee and the Governance, Finance and Risk subcommittee.

Phil Vincent

Deputy Chair

Phil was appointed to the Board in June 2014. He has extensive Board experience including roles as Director of Police Health and Emergency Services Health where he Chairs the Finance and Audit Committees and Investment Committees. Phil is also a member of the South Australian Community Football League Investigations Committee. His experience within SAPOL extends nearly 20 years and he is currently the Manager, Forensic Accounting Section within the Financial and Cybercrime Investigation Branch. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and also a Justice of the Peace.

Phil is Deputy Chair of the Governance, Finance and Risk subcommittee.

Superintendent Anthony Fioravanti

SAPOL representative

Superintendent Anthony Fioravanti joined the Crime Stoppers board in June 2019 as one of two senior police representatives. He is the Officer in Charge of State Intelligence Branch. His 40-year policing career has included 18 years in the Special Task and Rescue Group, postings as Officer in Charge of Barossa Yorke Local Service Area, South Coast Local Service Area, Western Adelaide Local Service Area, Eastern Adelaide Local Service Area, STAR Group, Traffic Support Branch and Western District.

Freddy Bartlett

Board Member

Freddy is Managing Director of Inheritance Capital Asset Management and joined the Board in April 2017. He has 20 years’ experience within the funds management industry, having worked in Adelaide, Sydney and London. Most recently he was the Chief Investment Officer and Deputy Chief Executive Officer at the Motor Accident Commission (SA). He has previously held senior roles across business development in Westpac and IAG Asset Management for managed funds and structured products, and a portfolio management role at Allianz Australia.

Freddy is Chair of the Governance, Finance and Risk subcommittee.

Iain Evans

Board Member

Iain established and managed a family building and retail business before entering state politics. A 21-year career in politics saw him serve as a Minister for five years, including Minister for Police, and he was also Leader and Deputy Leader of the Liberal Party. He now works as a Company Director and currently holds a number of Director and Chair positions. He joined the Crime Stoppers SA Board in April 2017.

Lisa Christo

Board Member

Lisa was appointed to the Board in April 2017. She graduated from a Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting) in 2014 and was admitted to legal practice in September 2015. She is a commercial lawyer at NDA Law and practices in the areas of tax law, estate planning, intellectual property law and corporate law. Lisa has a particular interest in corporate governance and not-for-profit organisations and sits on another not-for-profit board in the disability sector, where she also volunteers her time providing respite care.

Lisa is Chair of the Sponsorship & Marketing subcommittee

Nigel Knowles

Board Member

Nigel has been Chief Executive Officer of Encounter Youth since 2009. He joined the Crime Stoppers SA Board in August 2019 and brings extensive experience in implementing financial sustainability strategies, governance and management structures within a not-for-profit environment. He has a thorough knowledge of crime prevention and well-established relationships with SAPOL.

Nigel is a member of the Sponsorship & Marketing subcommittee.

Karyn Thomas

Board Member

Karyn joined the Crime Stoppers SA Board in March 2020, bringing many years of governance experience with community based and NFP organisations as a Director and sub-committee Chair.

Her twenty-four years’ experience in business and technology consulting includes the establishment of an Australian software business. She has strong commercial skills and can translate complex technical issues to non-technical audiences, having worked with local and state government and private sector clients. Among other qualifications, she holds an MBA and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.